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Air Support Clarification:  

Both players determine the number of air support units. On a die roll of 3-6, the air support marker is 

effective. On a die roll of 1-2, it is not.  

The side with more air support units gets a +1 R odds shift (on the attack) or a -1 L (In defense)  

In addition to this, German air units provide a +1 DRM on attack and -1 DRM in defense. 

Soviet air units provide a +1 DRM/-1 DRM (attack/defense) but only if the supported combat takes place 

within 2 hexes of a Soviet HQ in support mode. 

 

Example. Let’s assume both sides commit aircraft to a Soviet ground attack. The German player commits 1 

air unit. The Soviet commits three air units. The German player rolls a 5 for availability, the Soviet rolls a 2, 

3 and 6. The Soviet player has two air units versus one German air unit, so the Soviet attack gets a +1R. The 

Soviet attack takes place within 2 or less hexes of a Soviet HQ in support mode, so the attack gets a +1 DRM 

(in addition to the +1R odds shift). 

 

15.1. Out of Supply Effects Exception 

Ignore 15.1 Exception ('OOS Soviet HQ retain their attack strength but halve their defense strength'). 

 

Map charts  

Ignore references to odds shifts for Air Support "+2 or 1R depending on Die Roll" "-2 or 1L depending on 

Die Roll”. 

 

Combat Results Table (on map) 

The note "OSS Partisan unit in open mode +2" at the Combat Results Tale refers to Partisan units in guerrilla 

mode against OOS Units.  

Partisan unit conversion (clarification)  

A Partisan unit is converted to its “regular” side at the start of the movement phase. It cannot expend any 

MPs in Guerrilla mode prior to conversion. The Partisan unit must convert at the start of the movement 

phase, and then, once in regular mode, it can use its full MPs. 

Optional Rule 

16.6. Festung  

Whenever a Soviet ground unit judged to be in supply at that moment enters one hex within 3 or less hexes 

of Budapest, Zagreb, Vienna, Graz, the Soviet player rolls one die. On a die roll of 1-2, Hitler declares that 

city a Festung. Place a Festung marker on it. On a die roll of 3-6, nothing happens. There is no need to re-roll 

again for that city during the game. However, the Soviet player must roll for "Festung" declaration if he 

moves within 3 or less hexes of any other of the aforementioned cities.  

During the following Axis movement phase, the Axis player must place (if there weren’t any units already) 

in that town or city at least 2 units of any type. These units must remain in the city until eliminated by the 

Allied player. Place a "Festung" marker on top of it. If the chosen city is Budapest or Vienna, the Axis player 

must place at least 4 units. If the chosen city is Hungarian (Budapest), the Axis player may deploy Hungarian 

units, but at least 1 unit must be German.  

If the Soviet unit enters an hex within 3 or less hexes of more than one potential "Festung city" the Soviet 

player rolls only for one city, but he can decide which one.  

 

Example 1: a Soviet unit enters hex 0718 for the first time in the game. Hex 0718 is within 3 or less hexes of 

Budapest (hex 0520). Prior to continue moving other units, the Soviet player rolls a die. The die roll is 2, so 

Hitler declares Budapest a Festung. During the following Axis movement phase, the Axis player must move 

up to 4 units to Budapest. At least one must be German. These units must remain there until eliminated.  

Example 2: a Soviet unit enters hex 0825, that is within less than 3 hexes of either Zagreb (0926) and Graz 

(0627). The Soviet player decides to roll for Festung for Zagreb. The die roll fails, so the Soviet player 

cannot roll again for Zagreb. However, any other Soviet units entering hexes within 3 or less hexes of Graz 

during that same turn (or later turns) can trigger a Festung die roll for that city.  


